This is the "Additional Databases for Philosophy" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Philosophy 

This guide provides an introduction to the major resources available for the study of Philosophy.
Last update: Aug 20th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.pcj.edu/philosophy  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Additional Databases for Philosophy         Print/Mobile Page
  
 

POIESIS

POIESIS  provides the ability to search the full-text of over eighty philosophy journals using a variety of search methods. Citation information and the text surrounding your search terms is provided for most titles. The ability to access the full-text of articles is limited to a select group of subscription journals including American Catholic Philosophical Quarterly, Augustinian Studies, Canadian Journal of Philosophy, International Philosophical Quarterly, The Monist, Philosophy and Theology, Proceedings of the American Catholic Philosophical Association, and The Review of Metaphysics.

The main screen provides a search box that will look for your search terms in all titles.  A search for God AND man AND Aquinas will look for those terms in all journals in the database.  The result list will include those titles where the full-text is provided.  This is indicated by a star.  If you want to see all of the titles located (even the ones without the full-text), click on show all hits.  

From the main page you can also browse individual titles and look for articles in a specific volume.  Note that the title lists is arranged by subscription titles first and all other title grouped next.

An advanced search screen is available after an initial search is completed.  Advanced search includes multiple search boxes and the ability to restrict search terms to author, title, text, and abstract.  You can also limit by date and to selected journal titles.  

Click here to access POIESIS

 
 

EBSCO Religion & Philosophy

EBSCO Religion & Philosophy Collection

Includes approximately 300 titles in the area of religion and philosophy including access to  full-text.  In the area of philosophy coverage includes:

  • political philosophy
  • moral philosophy
  • philosophy of language
  • history of philosophy

Click here to access EBSCO Religion & Philosophy Collection

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait