E-Books
The library provides access to a number of e-books which provide background information on scriptual topics.
Biblical Interpretation
Hayes, John H., general ed. Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation. Nashville: Abingdon Press, c1999. 2 volumes.
Reference 220.3 H417d
This two-volume set includes lengthy articles covering biblical books in addition to some non-biblical texts. Additional articles of varying lengths focus on schools of biblical interpretation and associated scholars. Articles dealing with persons, including early Church Fathers, are accompanied by lists of their writings on scripture. Extensive bibliographies are included for some articles.
Kannengiesser, Charles. Handbook of Patristic Exegesis. The Bible in Ancient Christianity 1-2. Leiden ; Boston: Brill, 2004
Reference 230.1 31 K16h v. 1-2
This two volume set begins with a thorough introduction to the sources of patristic literature including an overview of the collections of primary texts. Information on the key reference sources and journals for patristic study are also included. The remainder of the work intersperses articles on the interpretation of scripture in the patristic era, overviews of the biblical books, articles arranged chronologically providing the historical context of the period, and individual entries for the Church Fathers and their writings. Extensive bibliographies accompany each article.
McKim, Donald K., ed. Dictionary of Major Biblical Interpreters. Downers, Grove, Ill.: IVP Academic, 2007.
Reference 220.6 D554
This work includes the entries of the previous edition and a significant number of new entries for this revised edition. Part one provides six overview articles covering biblical interpretation through the centuries: early Church, Middle Ages, 16th & 17th centuries, 18th and 19th centuries, Europe in the 20th century, and North America in the 20th century. The bulk of the work appears in part two which provides entries for major biblical interpreters arranged alphabetically focusing on those figures from Western Europe and North America.
Background Information
After defining your area of research, you may want to consult a dictionary or encyclopedia to gain an overview of the topic. Special or subject reference works, such as The Anchor Bible Dictionary or The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible, will provide detailed information on scriptural topics. Losed below are some of the reference works useful for gathering infornation on your topic.
Brown, Raymond E., Joseph A. Fitzmyer, and Roland E. Murphy, ed. The New Jerome Biblical Commentary. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 1990.
Reference 220.7 B879j 1989
Although the first section is a commentary, a second section (pp. 1023-1426) comprises nineteen articles by leading Catholic scholars on topics that are helpful in understanding Scripture (i.e. inspiration, canonicity, the Dead Sea Scrolls, versions of the Bible, modern Old Testament and New Testament criticism, Hermeneutics, a history of Israel, religious institutions of Israel, Pauline theology, Johannine theology, etc.)
Freedman, David Noel, et al., ed. The Anchor Bible Dictionary. New York: Doubleday, 1992. 6 volumes.
Reference 220.3 A539
Intended to be of use to a wide audience, this work provides current scholarship and thorough coverage of biblical topics. Entries are included for every book of the Bible, major words and names encountered, and historical as well as archaeological subjects.
Metzger, Bruce M., and Michael D. Coogan, ed. The Oxford Guide to Ideas & Issues of the Bible. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Reference 220.3 O98
Based on the earlier Oxford Companion to the Bible, this volume includes articles covering the concepts, events, schools of biblical interpretation, and biblical perspective on current issues. The articles represent current scholarship and a variety of denominational perspectives on biblical issues. This work is intended for a wide audience and can be used to supplement the Oxford Guide to People & Places of the Bible (220.92 O98).
Metzger, Bruce M., and Michael D. Coogan, ed. The Oxford Guide to People & Places of the Bible. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Reference 220.92 O98
This title is available electronically through the library subscription to Oxford Reference Online. See e-books listed on the left side of the screen.
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible. Nashville: Abingdon Press, 2006.
Reference 220.3 N532n
Created by an international group of scholars from diverse faith traditions. The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible reflects contemporary biblical scholarship including methods of interpretation, historical, cultural, archaeological discoveries and theological aspects of biblical topics. Detialed coverage is provided for people, places, events, and themes encountered in the Old and New Testaments.
Book Jackets
Description
Loading content... please wait


