This is the "1st Century N.T. World" page of the "Scripture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Scripture 

This guide provides an introduction to the major resources available for scripture studies in the PCJ library.
Last update: Sep 24th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.pcj.edu/scripture  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

1st Century N.T. World         Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Book Jackets

 
 

1st Century N.T. World

The library holds a number of reference sources addressing the early history of the Church.  These single volumes contain articles dealing with central themes in the development of the Church in the first century.

Bell Jr., Albert A. Exploring the New Testament World: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Jesus and the First Christians. Nashville: Thomas Nelson, 1998.
225.95 B433e

In this work, Bell seeks to show how "Greek and Roman cultures mingled and collided" (book cover). He explains the political, social, religious, and intellectual dimensions of the first century, aspects which enlighten one's understanding of the New Textament text and helps one to think like a first century person interpreting it.

Evans, Craig A., amd Stanley E. Porter, ed. Dictionary of New Testament Background.  Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 2000.
Reference 225.9503 E92d

This one-volume work includes entries for 300 topics selected to illuminate the setting and context of the New Testament and early Christiantiy.  While specific entries are n ot provided for New Testament books, the lengthy articles place the New Testament writings into the historical, social, and cultural context of the period.

Green, Joel B., and Scot McKnight, eds. Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 1992.
Reference 226.03 G796d

This volume provides in-depth coverage of topics dealing with Jesus and the Gospels ranging from historic to contemporary issues. The work is intended for students, pastors, and biblical scholars.  Cross references and bibliographies are included.

Harris, Stephen L. The New Testament: A Student's Introduction. 4th ed. Boston: McGraw-Hill, 2002.
225.61 H316u 2002

A good guide for students beginning their first study of the New Testament.  Besides demonstrating for the student parallels between Hellenistic relations and early Christian teachings, Harris deals with questions of history and interpretation of each New Testament book.

Hawthorne, Gerald F., and Ralph P. Martin, eds. Dictionary of Paul and his Letters. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 1993.
Reference 227.03 H399d

This work provides detailed information on the writings of St. Paul.  Overview articles are included for each letter illuminating the historical setting, key themes addressed, literary composition and analysis of the contents.  Additional articles provide background information to assist in understanding the world and mission of St. Paul.

 
 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait