Commentaries
A commentary is a verse by verse, or passage by passage explanation of the whole Bible or of a particular biblical book. Some biblical commentaries include the biblical text while others simply provide the reference to the verse or passage. They are helpful in getting scholarly opinion about the meaning of scriptural passages or verses.
Book Jackets
Multi-Volume Commentaries
Ancient & Patristic
Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity ; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998- .
Reference 220.7 O23 v.- (Old Testament)
Reference 220.7 O23n v.- (New Testament)
220.7 O23 v.- (in circulating collection)
220.7 O23n v.- (in circulating collection)
Includes the scriptural text, followed by an overview of the patristic writers who comment on the passage. This is followed by excerpts of these writings with citations to the complete work such as Origen's Homilies on Genesis 1:1. The aim of this work is to assist the reader in understanding the place of scriptural texts in the thought of the patristic writers.
Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture Old Testment
Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture New Testament
Modern
Anchor Bible. Garden City, New York: Doubleday, 1964- .
Reference 220.7 S539
220.7 A539 (in circulating collection)
This series of commentaries on the Old Testament, New Testament, and Apocyrpha reflects the best of contemporary biblical scholarship. Begun in 1964 by Doubleday as a project of Protestant, Catholic and Jewish scholars, it was taken over by Yale University Press in 2007. Over eighty volumes have been published to date with many older commentaries replaced by new editions. Each volume contains an original translation, annotations and variants; sets the historical, critical, and literary evolution of the text; provides a detailed outline; a verse by verse commentary; an analysis of various interpretative approaches; presents the historical background including authorship and dating; and provides an extensive bibliography of primary and secondary literature.
The Anchor Bible
The Anchor Yale Bible
Hermeneia. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 1971- .
A critical and historical commentary series on the Old and New Testament by authors who are recognized international experts. Each volume displays the full range of philosophical and historical tools to provide the student and scholar with a critical discussion and analysis of each aspect of the text and its interpretation. The series is ongoing with published volumes being revised as necessary and at times older volumes replaced by new works to present the latest in biblical scholarship.
The Navarre Bible. Four Courts Press, 1989- .
In the circulating collection and classed with individual books of the Bible.
Intended for broad readership, this publication of the theology faculty of the University of Navarre, is based upon the Revised Standard Version and the New Vulgate. In addition to commentary on the passages, this work is especially noted for its introductory material and notes that refer to Church documents, and the writings of the Fathers and other spiritual authors.
New Interpreter's Bible. Nashville, Tenn.: Abingdon Press, 1994- .
Reference 220.7 B989n
220.7 B989n
Contributors to this work reflect both Protestant and Catholic scholarship. Entries for each book of the bible include: introductions, commentary, and reflection. An index volume is also included.
Sacra Pagina. Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press, 1991-2007.
Reference 220.7 H299s
Copies in the circulating collection are classified with the individual N.T. books.
An eighteen volume commentary series on the twenty-seven books of the New Testament produced by an international team of the foremost Catholic biblical scholars including Brendan Byrne, Raymond Collins, Daniel Harrington, Wilfrid Harrington, Luke Timothy Johnson, Frank Matera, Francis Moloney, and Donald Senior. Each volume presents a detailed introduction followed by a new translation by the author along with detailed commentary, notes and bibliography. Many of the early volumes have been published in paperback editions with updated bibliographies.
Word Biblical Commentary. Waco, Texas: Word Books, 1982- .
220.77 H876w
A critical exegetical series by various biblical scholars writing from a scholarly as well as an evangelizal background. Contains some Greek words. Does not require a knowledge of Greek or Hebrew although offers this level of analysis for scholars.
Description
Loading content... please wait


