ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premiere English language database for research in the area of religion and theology providing access to citations to theological literature in periodicals, essays in collected works, festschriften, proceedings, congresses and annuals, as well as book reviews. ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials offers the additional feature of providing access to the text of articles appearing in over one hundred periodicals by clicking on the link provided in the citation. Areas of coverage include: theology, religion, Church history, ecumenism, and pastoral theology. This database is also especially useful for scripture studies. Titles of special interest to the Josephinum community include: Catholic Biblical Quarterly, Journal for the Study of the New Testament, Journal for the Study of the Old Testament, and Journal of Biblical Literature.
A list of the titles with full-text coverage is available on the ATLA web site at the following link: http://www.atla.com/products/titles/titles_atlas.html
How to Identify Articles on Scripture Subjects and Passages in ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Searches in Basic or Advanced Search:
Use the Basic or Advanced Search screens to construct searches using AND/OR/NOT to narrow or broaden a search. The default screen is Advanced Search which provides multiple search boxes. If you prefer to search with just a single search box, click on Basic Search. Enter term(s) in the search box and hit Search.
- Job AND Suffering
- Journey to Jerusalem
The Limit Your Results feature is available to further refine your search by a particular date, range of dates, language, or publication type. Once you have completed a search you can quickly refine your results by using the Narrow Results panel wich includes preselected subject terms related to your topic.
Index Searching for Scriptures:
In the blue bar at the top of the screen, a Scriptures link is available for searching an expandable scriptural index. Click on the book you are interested in or click on the expand link to narrow your search to a particular chapter or verse.
Another way to perform index searches is to click on the Indexes link located in the blue bar at the top of the screen. Click on the link Indexes. From the Browse an Index drop-down box, highlight Scripture Citation. Enter a book and chapter in the Browse for box (for example Luke 9:28) and click on the Browse button. From the resulting index, select one or more of the entries of interest by placing a check mark in the box to the left of the term, then click on the Add button to place your selection(s) in the search box. Click on the Search button. NOTE: Use this method of index searching to identify the number of items associated with your topic. Index searching is useful for identifying the exact form of a scripture reference, the varying form of a name, or the specific subdivision to focus broad subjects.
Subject searches can also be constructed using the Indexes link. From the Browse Index drop-down box, highlight Subjects All. Enter a subject term in the Browse for box. When searching for biblical book as a subject use the form BIBLE. (you must include the period). For example:
- Bible. Acts
- Bible. Exodus
Click on the Browse button. From the resulting index, select one or more of the subjects by placing a check in the box to the left of the term, then click on the Add button to place your selection(s) in the search box. Click on the Search button. NOTE: Use this method of index searching to identify the number of items associated with your topic.
Sample searches:
- Luke 9:28 (in Scripture Citation index)
- Bible. Acts--Criticism, interpretation (in Subject All index)
- Paul, Saint Apostle (in Name as Subject index)
EBSCO A-Z
Use EBSCO A-Z to determine if we have a particular journal available in the library either in print or electronic format.
Links in Search Results
Many of your search results will include links to the full-text or PDF of articles. Additionally, you may find other links which are related to a variety of products that are integrated into the EBSCO search interface including EBSCO A-Z, the OPAL Library Catalog, and interlibrary loan forms. Looks for the following clues:
- If PCJ has the journal in the library, look for Display more details about this journal. This will take you to EBSCO-A-Z which lists all library holdings whether they are in print or electronic form.
- If PCJ does not own the journal title, look for Request this item through interlibrary loan. If you click on this link all of the bibliographic information (author, title, publisher, pages, etc.) is transferred to a form and you just need to fill in your name, etc. The library will place the request for the material which can arrive very quickly or arrive in up to ten days depending on the loaning library.
- If the citation is to a book or a book chapter, look for Search the OPAL Catalog for this book. If the title is not in the PCJ collection be sure to extend your search to the OPAL or OhoLINK catalog to see if the item is available in a consortium library.
Description
Loading content... please wait


