This is the "More Sources for Books and Articles" page of the "Scripture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Scripture 

This guide provides an introduction to the major resources available for scripture studies in the PCJ library.
Last update: Sep 24th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.pcj.edu/scripture  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

More Sources for Books and Articles         Print/Mobile Page
  

More Subscription Databases Covering Scripture Topics

The following electronic resources provide citations or access to information in journals, multi-author works, and in some cases, monographs.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index provides access to citations found in over two hundred Catholic periodicals in addition to Catholic books and books of interest to Catholics. It is a major source for locating Church documents: papal, conciliar, synodal, and diocesan. Online coverage is from 1981 and includes titles such as Bible Today, and Scripture Bulletin.  Material prior to 1981 can be located using paper copues found on the Index Shelves (050 L439).

Religious & Theological Abstracts provides access to citations with abstracts covering over four hundred periodical titles.  It is ecumenical and international in scope.  RTAs coverage includes the following areas: biblical, theological, historical, and practical topics.

 

Bibliographies

The library holds a number of bibliographies on the Old and New Testaments, and on individual books of the Bible.  To locate bibliographies, serch the OPAL Catatlog by Subject using the following forms:

  • Bible O.T. Bibliography
  • Bible O.T. Amos Bibliography
  • Bible N.T. Bibliography
  • Bible N.T. Acts Bibliography

 

 
 

More Sources for Locating Books & Articles

Old Testament Abstracts. Catholic Biblical Association, 1978-
Index Shelves 221.6 O44

A subject index and a scripture index are provided for the abstracts of articles about Old Testament topics that have appeared in Catholic, Protestant and Jewish journals.

New Testament Abstracts. Weston, Mass.: Weston College School of Theology, 1956-
Index Shelves 225.6 N532

Abstracts of New Testment publications that have appeared in Catholic, Protestant, and Jewish publications.  Each volume includes an index of scripture texts, an index of authors, and a separate listing of book reviews.

Elenchus Bibliographicus Biblicus. Rome: Biblical Institute Press, 1968-1984. As of 1985 this work has a new title: Elenchus of Biblica.  Prior to 1968 this appeared as part of the journal Biblica.
Reference 016.22 E63

An extensive international bibliography arrangement with author and detailed subject index.  The person who uses Elenchus for the first time would do well to read the article "Elenchus Elucidated, or How to Find Things in Elenchus Bibliographicus" in Elenchus Bibliographicus Biblicus 57 (1976) xlvi-xlvii. The outline of the bibliography and a translation are included at the end of this section. 

Fitzmyer, J. An Introductory Bibliography for the Study of Scripture. 3rd ed. Rome: Pontifical Biblical Institute, 1990.
Reference 016.22 F557i 1990

An annotated bibliography of all basic sources and reference material.  The work lists not only basic books but also discusses periodicals, commentary series and other material not usually included in books of this type.

Bazylinski, Stanislaw. A Guide to Biblical Research, Introductory Notes. Rome: Editrice Pontifico Instituto Biblico, 2006.

The first section of this work is a annotated bibliography to sources and reference material.  The remainder focuses on wiriting a biblical exegesis and documenting sources.
Reference 016.22 B364g

 

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait