E-Books
The library has a number of e-books covering the ancient history and the classical world. The Oxford Reference Online includes access to the recently published Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome and the Oxford Classical Dictionary.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium - ClassicsA selection of eight e-books covering the classical world.
Companions to the Roman Republic
The library holds two companions dealing with the Roman Republic. Each work includes contributions dealing with central political, military, societal and cultural history of this period.
Flower, Harriet I., ed. The Cambridge Companion to the Roman Republic. Cambridge ; New York: Cambridge University Press, c2004.
937.02 C178
Rosenstein, Nathan, and Robert Morstein-Marx. eds. The Companion to the Roman Republic. Malden, Mass. ; Oxford: Blackwell, 2006.
937.02 C737
Resources for Background Information
Grant, Michael, and Rachel Kitzinger, ed. Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1988. 3 Volumes.
Reference 938 G762c v. 1-3
This three volume set contains ninety-seven essays arranged under the headings: Land and Sea, Population, Agriculture and Food, Technology, Government and Society, Economics, Religion, Private and Social Life, Women and Family, Literary and Performing Arts, Philosophy, and Visual Arts. This is a good source for gathering background information on society and culture at the time of Caesar and his reign or themes associated with Caesar's Civil War. For example, the article on Roman Historiography and Biography includes sections on both Suetonius and Julius Caesar.
Hornblower, Simon, and Antony Spawforth, ed. The Oxford Classical Dictionary. 3rd ed. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 1996.
Reference 913.38 O98 1996
This edition updates the scholarship and bibliography of this comprehensive dictionary which includes entries for people, places, events, and terms associated with the classical world.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary is available electronically through the library subscription to the Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection. See e-books listed on the left side of screen.
Hornblower, Simon, and Antony Spawforth, ed. The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
Reference 913.003 H814o
This work includes the "essential material from the very successful third (1996) edition of the Oxford Classical Dictionary." (preface). Illustrations and maps have been included along with a more general bibliography replacing the detailed citations in the OCD3.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization is available electronically through the library subscription to the Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection. See e-books listed on the left side of screen.
Quinn, Betty Nye. "Caesar." Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome. Vol. 1. New York: Charles Scribner's, c.1982.
Reference 880.09 L935a v. 1 & 2
Pages 538-599 (volume 1) includes a very readable overview on Caesar and his writing, The Civil War. The bibliography includes a section of critical studies. Entries for Suetonius and Plutarch are included in volume 2.
Roberts, John, ed. The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, c2005.
R938.003 O98
"... An abridgement of OCD3." (preface). Another work seeking to make the scholarship of the Oxford Classical Dictionary available to a wider audience. For example the entry on Cookery in this abridgement lacks the last paragraph and bibliography found in the OCD3.
The Oxford Classical of the Classical World is available electronically through the library subscription to the Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection. See e-books listed on the left side of screen.
"Julius Caesar." Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism. Ed. Elisabeth Gellert and Jelena O. Krstovic. Vol. 47. Detroit: Thomson Gale, c2002.
Reference 809 P876c v. 47
The material on pages 139-268 include a brief introduction to Julius Caesar, his writings and their reception. Nine critical essays and lectures on Caesar that were previously published in the 1950's through 2000 are also included. A number of the essays deal with Caesars' Civil War for example, Cynthia Damon's essay "Caesar's Practical Prose" or John H. Collin's essay "On the Date and Interpretation of the Bellum Civile." A selected bibliography for further reading is also included.
Atlas
Cornell, Tim, and John Matthews. Atlas of the Roman World. New York: Facts on File, c1982.
Reference 973.02 C814a
This atlas covers the historical and cultural developments of the Roman world from its foundation through A.D. 500. See page 70 for a map of The rise of Julius Caesar and the events of the Gallic and Civil wars.
Book Jackets
Description
Loading content... please wait


