This is the "Specialized Encyclopedias" page of the "Early Modern Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Early Modern Philosophy 

This guide provides an introduction to resources that may be helpful in the course Early Modern Philosophy.
Last update: Aug 19th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.pcj.edu/earlymodern  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Specialized Encyclopedias         Print/Mobile Page
  

E-Books

The library has a number of e-books providing background information in the area of philosophy.

 
 

Specialized Encyclopedias

After defining your area of research, you may want to consult an encyclopedia to gain an overview of the topic. In the area of philosophy, many of the major encyclopedias come in both electronic and print versions. Special or subject encyclopedias, such as Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy will provide detailed information on philosophical topics.  Listed below are some of the major encyclopedias for the study of philosophy which will provide information on the major philosophers of the period including Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz, Bacon, Hobbes, Locke, and Hume. Additionally, these sources will provide articles addressing the philosophical themes of the period such as rationalism, materialism, etc. 

Borchert, Donald M., ed. Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. 10 volumes.
Reference 103 E26e 2005 v. 1-10

Continues the tradition of the first edition in providing broad coverage and sound scholarship for all philosophical subjects.  Selected articles are updated for this edition with entirely new entries included to represent contemporary developments and diversity in philosophical studies.  For other select entries, articles are retained from the first edition or its supplement, and in some cases the bibliography is updated or an addendum is included to supplement older material.

The Encyclopedia of Philosophy is available electronically through the library subscription to the Gale Virtual Reference Library. See e-books listed on the left side of screen.

Craig, Edward, gen. ed. Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. London ; New York: Routledge, 1998. 10 volumes.
Reference 103 C886r v. 1-10

Published in 1998, this source provides extensive coverage of both Western and world philosophy. It is especially useful for its coverage of philosophical developments spanning the past 30 years and updating of earlier discussions.  Entries are signed and include a short overview of the topic, an outline to the main article, and cross references.  The annotated bibliographies associated with each entry will direct you to further resources on the topic.

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is available electronically through a library subscription.  See e-books listed on the left side of screen.

Edwards, Paul, ed. Encyclopedia of Philosophy. New York: Macmillam and Free Press, 1967.
Reference 103 E26e

Provides broad coverage and sound scholarship for all philosophical subjects.  A supplemental volume to update this work was published in 1996. A second edition of this work was published in 2006 and provides updates and new entries on current topics or scholarship.

Horowitz, Maryanne Cline, ed. New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005. 6 volumes.
Reference 901.9 N432 v. 1-6

This work contains all original material and distinguishes itself from the earlier Dictionary of the History of Ideas in its coverage of ideas as they are manifested in world cultures.  Covering ancient through contemporary time periods from a global perspective, this work analyzes ideas related to the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  Major articles in the area of philosophy include: Philosophies (arranged by African; American; Feminist, Twentieth Century; Islamic); Philosophy (arranged by Historical Overview and Recent Developments, and Relations to Other Intellectual Realms); Philosophy, History of; Philosophy, Moral; and Philosophy and Religion in Western Thought.  Additional articles for use in this course include: Materialism in Eighteenth-Century European Thought, and Empiricism.

Wiener, Philip P., ed. Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies in Selected Pivotal Ideas. New York: Scribner's 1973-1974. 4 volumes and index.
Reference 901.9 W647d

The articles in this 5 volume set are especially useful for coverage of the development of scientific, literary, historical, political, religious, philosophical and mathematical concepts throughout history.  The lengthy articles examine the major themes, thinkers, and historical context of the topic including Rationalism and Materialism. Use the index volume to locate names of philosophers and additional key terms.

 
 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait